Just wanted to share my experience in job hunting in Upwork for your inspiration

Feb 11 '20 Kintanar 2700 clicks share

Just wanted to share my experience in job hunting in Upwork. I’ve been in Upwork on and off to be honest. Started using it May of 2016. A little background. I’m a backend web developer. Specializing in Laravel PHP Framework. I do not do front end tasks.

When I started in Upwork, like everyone else, I had zero experience, zero clients, zero hours worked. My only edge is that I have ample experience in the industry (company). My first thought was, how should I get started? What I was looking for is a client that would pay higher than the average companies here in PH. How would I beat those Indian Upworkers that asks for very low rates?

What I first did was to build up my resume. I’ve added all the related skills that I have for the job that I was hunting. Good thing that I have some personal projects lying around that I was able to build my resume from. It's like an additional portfolio aside from my industry experience.

The basis for my rate was my current salary in my day job. I tried to set it to that amount. I am a very picky applicant. I wanted to save my connects to the best Job Listing that best fits my skills. IT WAS NOT EASY!

Back in 2016, the connects aren't paid yet. So anyone can just apply to anything and just wait for their connects to run out and wait for the next cycle of connects to be credited to their account. It was very chaotic. Whenever you wanted to apply for an easy job there will already be 20 - 50 applications already submitted. If I would submit a proposal to that Job Listing, how would my proposal be noticed?

I needed a better plan.

I made use of the search filters: Hourly Expert - $$$ - client is willing to pay higher rates for the most experienced freelancers More than 30 hrs / week 3 - 6 months