My client refused my request to be her employee

Nov 17 '20 jacky_farrell 2506 clicks ask

Hi, I’m bothered by the fact that I don’t have benefits from my client. I’ve been working for her several months now. I signed a contract that says I won’t have any benefits whatsoever and that I am not an employee rather than a contractor. Of course I’m worried about my future too. I have a family to take care of.

I really want to ask her if I can be an employee and get benefits too.. but I’m afraid to ask because I’m not sure what she’ll do if I do. What if she decides not to continue my contract because I’m asking for more. I can’t risk losing this job.

I asked advise from someone and she said that if I want to ask for benefits or to change the contract, just ask after a year of working with the client but, she said I should not expect for the client to say yes to my request and I should be careful because the client might decide to look for someone else who wouldnt ask for more. I need proper advise, guys. Please and thank you 🙏

20 Replies

Good for you, my client. I don't even have one 😞

Working as freelancer doesn't really have the security of tenure that working for big companies offer. I also understand how it feels to worry about losing your job/client and I agree that you can always find clients you can offer your services to. Pero we can always mitigate this risk by learning how to manage our finances. Learn where you can grow your hard earned money, where you can, obtain a secondary source of income ( ex. investing in stocks or bonds, or building your emergency fund or obtaining a life insurance for your family's future). Kung minsan naka focus tayo dun sa kung paanu lang tayo kikita pero napapabayaan natin kung paano natin mamaximize ung monthly income natin. If you are unsure where to start, you can always ask google 🙂