My client and I agreed for a fixed $300/month, now he switched me to full-time

Jul 02 '20 Bondoc 2354 clicks ask

Looking for advise.

My client and I agreed for a 15 and 30 payout for a fixed $300/month (part time). But now he switched me to full time which is 8 hrs a day and he introduced me to new tasks such as proofreading, editing articles, research, creating Youtube thumbnails, etc.

He paid me today for 14,566 pesos. Full time, 8 hrs a day, Monday to Friday. I was dismayed and demotivated. So it's showing that my hourly rate is $3.36. I thought he increased my salary given the new assignments and my payout 2 weeks ago was higher than expected. I've been working with him for 2 months now and I've been in this industry for over 3 years and I feel that I don't deserve this rate with my skills.

Should I talk to him and ask him for salary increase or should I find a new job? What would you do if this is your case?

20 Replies

Talk to him. If he/she will not agree find another employer.

You are supposed to get less than 8k per salary day as a part-timer, but now you get 14k+ because you're now working FT.

A fixed rate is different from hourly rate, so if you want to get paid hourly, then you should not have settled for the fixed rate. :)

All the best! And best to talk to your client. I'd say I will be thankful to get a client that helps me grow my skillset. I am charging 6-8usd/hr now, but I don't mind getting paid 800usd as a monthly rate if I like the job enough.

So think about it first before you quit. $600 USD a month isn't so bad given the crisis now. Cheers!

Wait, if your part time rate is 300 USD, then FT rate is around 600 USD. Since you get paid bi-weekly (twice a month), then what you received is just right. Since you will get 300 USD per salary day.

300 USD x 48 pesos (let's say this is the PayPal conversion) = 14,400

So I wonder where the discrepancy is?

Wondering the same thing.